Project plugins extend Crafter Studio (authoring) and Crafter Engine and the site/web application (delivery). It adds new features/functionality without adding code to CrafterCMS.
This section details how to manage plugins from the Plugin Management module.
Once a project plugin is published to the Crafter Marketplace it can be installed using the Crafter Studio user interface or the REST API:
To access the Plugin Management tool or use the install plugin REST API your user needs to have the following permissions:
As mentioned above, there are two ways to install plugins from the Crafter Marketplace:
- Using the Studio
Plugin ManagementProject Tool
- Using the install plugin REST API
Install a plugin using the Studio
Plugin Management Project Tool
Login to Crafter Studio
Open the left sidebar by clicking on the Crafter logo with the hamburger icon next to it at the top left of your screen
Or, you can also open by clicking on the
Navigation Menuat the top right of the screen then click on
Search & install
Install the desired plugins by clicking on the
A notification informing the user of the plugin installation status (success/failure/etc.) will appear on the bottom left of the screen
Install a plugin using the install plugin REST API
Another way to install a plugin from the Crafter Marketplace is by using the install plugin REST API.
For more information on the API, see https://app.swaggerhub.com/apis/craftercms/studio/126.96.36.199#/marketplace/installPlugin
Managing Installed Plugins
View Installed Plugins
To view the installed plugins in your project, click on the
Navigation Menu at the top right then click on then finally click on
To uninstall plugins in your project, open the
Plugin Management dialog. Click on the trash can icon next to the plugin you want to uninstall. A dialog will open to confirm the plugin to be uninstalled and a list of where the plugin is being used if applicable
For plugins with dependencies like the above, take note of the items in the list in the uninstall dialog. These dependencies will need to be removed by the user before or after uninstalling the plugin.
After clicking on the
Uninstall button, a notification will appear at the bottom left of the screen informing the user of the plugin uninstall status (success/failure/etc.).
Remember to clean up (remove) references to the uninstalled plugin in your project if not already done, after the plugin is successfully uninstalled.